Facebook Twitter
requiresafe.com

加热和冷却您的木屋

发表于 二月 26, 2022 作者: Branden Mausbach

显然,我们的祖先不必太担心加热他们的小木屋。 大型壁炉毫无疑问地加热了他们居住的几个房间。当然,现在原木房屋是家庭大小的,我们经常给人的印象是,它们的加热方式有所不同,而且很棒的事情是 正常系统也将在木屋中作为常规结构工作。

几乎所有日志房屋都是用至少一个壁炉构建的。 最初,我们认为我们美丽的肥皂石木炉会为整个房屋变暖,我们将使用强制性丙烷热量进行备份。 las,我们错了。 由于我们有一个带有巨大阁楼的大教堂天花板,因此炉子上的温暖在楼上,需要两个吊扇循环温暖的空气。 我们预料到了这一点,但我们认为热量会侧向延伸到开放式区域的其余部分(用餐区和厨房)。 不在你的生活中! 即使坐在距火炉约15英尺的沙发上,我也想要一个床罩。 我对厨房感到不舒服。 我相信,如果我们有正常的天花板,那么热量可能会消失在我们期望的地方,但是大教堂天花板的响度就会消除我们的计算。 此外,肥皂石炉子的目的是24/7运行,并且由于我们俩都为谋生而工作,所以炉子直到一天才被燃烧。 这种木炉必须缓慢加热,以使岩石破裂,因此,当它实际上是在烹饪时,我们已经准备好上床了。

传统上,老式的壁炉从房间里挤压了所有温暖的空气,但现代设计更有效地循环热量。 最节能的壁炉是在房屋中间建造的,因此桩的热量不会损失在外部。 如果火焰熄灭,外部堆栈可能会产生背部草稿,从而使新的大火更具挑战性。 如果您计划几间卧室,则将其中两个背对背(面对毗邻的房间)放置,将为您提供有机会用两只烟道建造1个烟囱。 或者,您可能会在炉子上放置一个壁炉,再次允许在完全相同的烟囱上允许两只烟道。 直接通风的壁炉将去除烟囱,但您必须确定如何隐藏外墙上的端口。 或者,如果您使用木炉,则可以将管道穿过墙壁并直接向上沿外部,在管道周围创建一个盒子以模拟烟囱。 根据所需的外观,您可能会选择将管道放在该区域内并通过屋顶发送。 这将带来更多的温暖。

在设计阶段的早期考虑您的供暖和空调需求是一个了不起的主意。 尽管木屋自然能节能,但弹出系统并不明智。 您可能有能力用大量的壁炉或木炉加热整个房屋,但是在签发施工许可证之前,该镇可能会达到最低的标准。 此外,您想考虑转售价值。 我知道一个人试图在没有炉子的情况下销售一百万美元的手工木屋,并且您可能会怀疑,购买者从未出现过。 该房屋被列为未完成的,并在事实太艰巨后安装供暖系统。 如果您尝试在没有中央AC的情况下逃脱,也存在类似的问题。 是的,日志屋确实在夏天保持凉爽,但是八月的这些“狗日”可以为您提供一个完全痛苦的夜晚睡眠,而潜在的买家很可能不会像第一所有者那样宽容。 确实,如果我们不包括中央AC,我们的抵押公司不会考虑授予建筑贷款。

如果您想节省管道空间,则可以使用与空调的相同管道使用强制的空气。 丙烷或石油通常是农村地区选择的燃料。 如果您的内部空间有限,那么有些企业专门使用很少的高级管道系统,它们适合紧密的角度。 这些系统通常需要更高的初始安装价格。 使用常规管道时,您需要将角度至少维持,因此它将有助于设计一楼的墙壁,这些墙壁将方便地将空气直接运到下一层。 一个开放式平面图提供了一个挑战,因为您必须记住,楼上的房间将需要加热,并且您需要供应和回流以进行有效的气流。 如果您想使用整个日志内墙,则需要找到另一种运行管道,电气和管道的方法。 我们犯了这个错误,卧室里的返回端口不足。 即使所有窗户都打开,夏天的空气也很闷。

通风孔移动到哪里? 由于我们的外墙是完整的日志,因此我们的许多通风孔都放在地面上。 如果您的内壁是板岩或舌沟,则可以将通风口放在通常去的地方。 我希望我们要做的1件事是与HVAC承包商一起处理该计划,因为他将通风口放在我发现最不便的区域。 有时它可以帮助,有时无法帮助。

如果您有能力,并且想至少离开恒温器,您会发现该原木房屋的南方面积会比北部的曝光温暖。 由于在冬季,阳光会更靠近地平线,因此组织向南的大窗户是有利的。 在整个夏季,太阳将越过屋顶,因此不会过热您的房屋。 但是,您可能会意识到,房屋的北侧 - 根本不会阳光直射 - 可能会明显凉爽。 理想的解决方案是放入辐射地板加热(如果可以负担得起)。 尽管该系统需要锅炉而不是炉子,但地板上的加热却均匀地散布在您的房屋中,消除了面向北部的蓝色。 使用辐射地板加热系统,您将需要保持恒温器稳定; 上班时,该机器不打算拒绝。

此外,您还可以使用锅炉加热热水,从而消除了对热水加热器的需求。 另一方面,您仍然必须为空调安装管道。

总体而言,与常规结构相同的考虑。 我们认为我们只能通过1个加热和冷却来解决,但是回想起来,两个区域可能会解决很多问题。 从长远来看,在第一个位置正确执行它是更便宜的。 改造木屋不会轻而易举!

Share This Page On Facebook Share This Page On Twitter
requiresafe.com

Heating and Cooling Your Log Home

Posted on September 5, 2020 by Branden Mausbach

Obviously, our forefathers did not worry too much about heating their log cabins. Big fireplaces had no problem heating up the a couple of rooms they dwelt in. Of course now that log homes are family-sized, we frequently have the impression that there's something different about how they're heated, and the great thing is that a normal system will work too in a log house as a conventional structure.

Just about all log homes are constructed with at least one fireplace. Initially, we believed that our beautiful soapstone woodstove would warm the entire house, and we would use our forced-air propane heat for a backup. Alas, we were wrong. Since we have a cathedral ceiling with a huge loft, the warmth from the stove goes straight upstairs, necessitating two ceiling fans to recirculate the warm air. We anticipated this, but we thought the heat would extend sideways into the remainder of the open floor area (dining area and kitchen). Not on your life! Even sitting on the sofa about 15 feet from the stove, I want a coverlet. I am uncomfortably chilly from the kitchen. I believe that if we had a normal ceiling, the heat may have gone where we expected it, but the loudness of the cathedral ceiling pulled off our calculations. Additionally, the soapstone stove is intended to be run 24/7, and because we both work for a living, the stove does not get fired up until the day. This woodstove has to be warmed up slowly in the chance of cracking the rock, so by the time it's actually cooking we are ready for bed.

Old-fashioned fireplaces traditionally squeezed all of the warm air from the room, but contemporary designs are more effective at recirculating the heat. The most energy-efficient fireplace is constructed in the middle of the home, so the pile heat isn't lost to the exterior. Outside stacks can create back drafts if the flame is extinguished, making a new fire more challenging to light. If you're planning several bedrooms, putting two of these back-to-back (facing adjoining rooms) will provide you the chance to build 1 chimney with two flues. Or you may place a fireplace over your furnace, again permitting two flues at precisely the exact same chimney. A direct-vent fireplace will remove the chimney, but you will have to determine how to conceal the port on the exterior wall. Or, if you use a wood-stove, you can run the pipe through the wall and directly up the exterior, creating a box around the pipe to simulate a chimney. Based on the appearance you want, you might choose to leave the pipe within the area and send it through the roof. This will give more warmth.

It is a fantastic idea to think about your heating and air conditioning needs early in the design phase. Although log houses are naturally energy-efficient, it is not smart to skimp on your system. You may have the ability to heat your entire house with a massive fireplace or wood stove, but the township will likely have minimal standards to fulfill before they issue a construction permit. Additionally, you want to think about resale value. I know of one person who attempted to market a million-dollar handcrafted log home with no furnace, and as you might suspect, the purchaser never came along. The home was listed as unfinished, and installing the heating system after the fact was too daunting a job. A similar problem exists if you try to get away without central ac. Yes, log houses do remain cooler in the summer, but these"dog days" of August can provide you a totally miserable night's sleep, and a prospective buyer will most likely not be as tolerant as the first owner. Really, our mortgage company wouldn't consider granting a construction loan if we did not include central ac.

If you would like to conserve ductwork space, you may use forced air heat, using the identical ductwork serving the air conditioner. Propane or oil are normally the fuels of choice in rural areas. If your inside space is limited, there are businesses that specialize in very little, high-grade duct systems which fit into tight angles; those systems usually require a much higher initial installation price. When using conventional ductwork, you need to maintain the angles at a minimum, so it will help to design first floor walls which will conveniently carry the air directly up to the next floor. An open floor plan provides a challenge, since you must remember that the upstairs rooms will need to be heated and you'll need both supply and return vents to make an efficient air flow. If you would like to use whole log interior walls, you will need to find another way to run the ductwork, electrical, and plumbing. We made that mistake, and there aren't enough return ports in our bedroom. The air is stuffy in the summertime, even with all the windows open.

Where do the vents move? Since our exterior walls are complete log, a number of our vents were put in the ground. If your inside walls are sheetrock or tongue-and-groove, you can place the vents where they normally go. 1 thing I wish we'd done was go over the plan with the HVAC contractor, since he put the vents in areas I found most inconvenient. Some times it can be helped, and some times it can not.

If you're energy-minded and want to leave your thermostat at a minimum, you'll discover that the southern-facing side of this log home will be warmer than the northern exposure. Since sunlight will sink closer to the horizon on a winter day, it is advantageous to organize your big windows facing south; throughout the summertime, the sun will cross over the roof, so it won't overheat your home. However, you might realize that the northern side of your house - that will not get direct sunlight at all - could be markedly cooler. The ideal solution would be to put in radiant-floor heating (if you can afford it). Although this system demands a boiler rather than a furnace, the in-floor heating spreads the heat evenly throughout your house, eliminating the northern-facing blues. With radiant-floor heatingsystem, you will need to keep the thermostat stable constantly; the machine isn't intended to be turned down when you go to work.

Additionally, you may use the boiler to heat your hot water also, eliminating the need for a hot-water heater. On the other hand, you will still have to install ductwork for the air conditioning.

Overall, the very same considerations apply as in routine structure. We believed we could get by with just 1 zone of heating and cooling, but in retrospect, two zones could have solved a great deal of problems. In the long term, it is cheaper to do it properly in the first location. Retrofitting a log home isn't going to be a breeze!